dream god banner.png

Title: Dream God

Series: S-Gods Book 2

Author: J Johanis

Genre: Dark Fantasy/Gay Romance/Fiction

Length: 189 Pages

Publisher: J Johanis

Heat Level: Explicit


Blurb: For the first time in three years, Aya is finally free, but with his freedom comes the pain of all he's lost. Seeing Akad and Marduk together makes him realize how badly he has messed up. By betraying Marduk, he ruined his chance with the one god he desires more than anything.

Aya needs time to heal and put his world back together, but the trial against the Order looms over him. As the trial begins, Akad, Marduk, and Aya are ensnared in a web of jealousy, backstabbing, and cut-throat politics. Were they crazy to think they could stand up to the Order? If the gods of the Order can still rip their lives apart, their chances of receiving justice may be next to impossible. But if they fail to bring the Order down, Aya may never truly be free.


Product Link: Amazon


my review

Wow…so intense. Dream God, by J Johanis, is the second book in the S-Gods series and from start to finish I felt as though I was holding my breath. In my opinion, reading book 1, Claimed by the Order, is mandatory before starting Dream God.

For one reason, it picks up right where book 1 stopped and that is with Aya being in the protection of Akad waiting for the trial against the order to start.

While the first book was very intense and sometimes brutal in translation, there were moments that I felt confused about what was happening. Luckily, book 2 answers so many questions and feels in plot holes making much more sense. There are many Gods and Goddesses to keep straight but the further you get into the story the more you understand.

Aya is a Dream God but visiting his dreams have only brought pain and heartache to him. His mother explained to him how he would know his soul mate when he found him and Aya was sure that title went to Marduk. However, since lying with Akad and experiencing the dream like feelings he is unsure of who his true soul mate is.

One thing he does know for sure is that he cannot survive another encounter with Seth, the God that brutally raped and attacked him for years. If he and Marduk can find enough evidence to present the courts they may be able to be rid of the evil that makes up the order.

J Johanis completely swept me up in this story and I constantly feared for Aya, Marduk, and Akad. As the trial looms closer, the back stabbing, the lies, and the brutality seemed endless. All hope for Aya to be free left a sickening feeling in my gut. There were so many people against him and telling lies that his future looked very bleak.

Thank goodness for Marduk and his strength and for seeing the truth when all else failed. With his strong connection to Aya and having the ability to see inside Aya’s dreams there may just be a chance for them to win their trial against the order.

Even though this was a very intense read, the author shows the gentler sides of Akad and Marduk. Their love is strong, but even they were tested, repeatedly, and sometimes failed to see past the fog. As I said, I felt as though I held my breath through the biggest part of the story. The author takes you on a journey, through twists and turns, and you find yourself doubting everything.

Their journey doesn’t end here as the author gives us a sneak peek into book 3 and just by the brief look we get it looks as if we will be in for another intense and thrilling ride.

This series is dark, at times, but addicting, and the author doesn’t pull any punches. There are moments that are cringing because you have already formed attachments to the main characters.

You find yourself pulling for and cheering them on and hoping they find the strength to get to the other side. Don’t give up because there is laughter and love just waiting for them to grab it.

I have to say that I was quite relieved with how the ending turned out. About half way through I started running this particular scenario through my head as a what-if. I think the direction the author is taking is the only way true happiness can be found.

I am looking forward to the next book in this series and also to see how the characters have grown. Not only in strength, but with their powers in visions and dreams. Hopefully, the nightmares are behind them… hopefully. 

        5Stars from me

**I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from the author**